Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

University of Reading

The University of Reading is a research intensive university and this heritage has led them to participate in the "Eureka project", in which FBGS fibers were embedded within an innovative new design of composite train bogie.

Integrierte faseroptische Sensoren zur Überwachung der Dehnung in Verbundwerkstoffen

Damit Faserverbundwerkstoffe mit Sicherheit in primären Tragwerken eingesetzt werden können, sind Methoden zur Überwachung von Dehnungen im Gebrauch unerlässlich. Die Partner im Eureka 1841 Eurobogie-Projekt verwendeten FBGS-LWL-Sensoren (Draw Tower Gratings), um die Dehnung von Bauteilen zu überwachen, die mit unterschiedlichen Methoden geformt wurden.

Abbildung: Seitenmontage des Drehgestell-Seitenrahmens im Test, zeigt die Verkabelung zu faseroptischen Sensoren.

Das Potenzial von faseroptischen Sensoren zur Überwachung von Dehnungen und Delaminationsrissen, insbesondere bei dicken faserverstärkten Verbundwerkstoffen, wurde untersucht. Hochbelastbare optische Fasern wurden innerhalb von 10 mm von der Zugoberfläche geformt.

Innerhalb des gesamten Versuchsprogramms wurden die Träger in 3-Punkt-Biegung belastet, um Lasten bis zu 160 kN und Dehnungen von 1,5% zu erreichen. Die unmittelbare Beobachtung ist, dass das Formen, Aushärten oder Nachbehandeln weder den Zustand der Glasfasern noch die Fasern die Festigkeit der Träger beeinflussen. Darüber hinaus konnte eine gute Korrelation zwischen der Leistung der mit der Zugfläche verbundenen mechanischen Lehren und den faseroptischen Sensoren während der Belastung beobachtet werden.

Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen zu dieser Anwendung.

Andere Referenzen

Für unseren Newsletter anmelden
Treten Sie in Kontakt mit uns
CAPTCHA image

* These fields are required.

Wie wir Ihre Daten verwenden

Wir verpflichten uns, Ihre Privatsphäre zu respektieren und Ihre persönlichen Daten zu schützen, und werden diese stets mit äußerster Sorgfalt behandeln. Wie wir mit Ihren Daten umgehen und wie wir sie verwenden, um Ihnen einen besseren Service zu bieten, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung .

Mit dem Absenden dieses Formulars stimmen Sie der Verwendung Ihrer Daten in Übereinstimmung mit unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

Germany

FBGS Technologies GmbH
Winzerlaer Straße 2
D-07745 Jena

Belgium

FBGS International NV
Bell Telephonelaan 2H

B-2440 Geel

China

X2 Suzhou Electronic Technology
Room 103, No. 388
Xinping Str. SIP, Suzhou

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

University of Reading

The University of Reading is a research intensive university and this heritage has led them to participate in the "Eureka project", in which FBGS fibers were embedded within an innovative new design of composite train bogie.

Embedded fiber optic sensors for monitoring strain within composite material

For fiber composites to be used with confidence in primary load bearing structures, methods of monitoring strains in service use are essential. The partners in the Eureka 1841 Eurobogie project used FBGS fiber optic sensors (Draw Tower Gratings) to monitor strains of components moulded using different methods.

Figure: Side assembly bogie side frame undergoing testing, showing wiring to fiber optic sensors.

The potential of fiber optic sensors to monitor strains and delamination cracks, especially in thick fiber-reinforced composites was investigated. High strain optical fibers have been moulded within 10 mm of the tensile surface.

Within the whole experimental programme, the beams have been loaded in 3 point bending to loads up to 160 kN and strains of 1.5%. The immediate observation is that the moulding, curing or post curing does not affect the condition of the optical fibers nor do the fibers affect the strength of the beams. Furthermore, a good correlation between the output of the mechanical gauges bonded to the tensile face and the fiber optic sensors could be observed during loading.

Click here for more information on this application

Other cases

Sign up for newsletter
Contact us

* These fields are required.

How we use your information

We are committed to respecting your privacy and protecting your personal information and will always treat it with the upmost care. You can find out how we handle your data and all the ways we use it to provide you with a better service in our Privacy Statement.

By submitting this form, you consent to the use of your data in accordance with our Privacy Statement.