Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Draw Tower Gratings®

Im Vergleich zu klassisch hergestellten FBGs bieten wir drei Arten von DTG® mit einzigartigen Eigenschaften an, wie extrem hohe Bruchfestigkeit, spleißfreie Array-Konfiguration und gleichmäßige Beschichtungsabdeckung. FBG-Parameter und Beschichtungsmaterial können nach Kundenwunsch ausgewählt werden.

DTG®s in Faser mit geringem Biegeverlust

1550-125

Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®s), geschrieben in Low Bend Loss-Faser LBL-1550-125, mit einem Manteldurchmesser von 125 µm und optimiert für den Betrieb im 1550-nm-Wellenlängenfenster. Die Glaszusammensetzung wurde so abgestimmt, dass die Faser bei kleinen Biegedurchmessern eine gute Signalübertragung beibehält.

830-125

Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®s), geschrieben in Low Bend Loss-Faser LBL-830-125, mit einem Manteldurchmesser von 125 µm und optimiert für den Betrieb im 830-nm-Wellenlängenfenster. Die Glaszusammensetzung wurde so abgestimmt, dass die Faser bei kleinen Biegedurchmessern eine gute Signalübertragung beibehält.

 

DTG®s in reduzierten Mantelfaser

Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®s) eingeschrieben in die Low Bend Loss-Faser LBL-1550-80, die einen Manteldurchmesser von 80 μm hat und für den Betrieb im Wellenlängenfenster von 1550 nm optimiert ist. Der reduzierte Manteldurchmesser bietet im Vergleich zu 125µm Standardfasern mehrere wesentliche Vorteile:

  1. Unauffällig – besonders interessant für die Einbettung von Anwendungen wie Carbon-Verbundstrukturen und medizinischen Kathetern.
  2. Erhöhte Empfindlichkeit – es ist weniger Kraft erforderlich, um die Faser zu belasten, was die Leistung von Sensoren auf der Grundlage von Kraft- oder akustischer Abtastung verbessert.
  3. Reduzierte Biegeradien – geringere Oberflächenbelastungen ermöglichen kompaktere Sensordesigns.

Überblick

Parameter Low Bend Loss Fiber 1550-125 Low bend loss fiber 830-125 Reduced cladding fibers
Reflexionsvermögen (für eine Gitterlänge von 8 mm)
> 15%
FWHM (für eine Gitterlänge von 8 mm)
100 pm 30 pm 100 pm
Mittenwellenlänge (erweiterter Bereich auf Anfrage)
1510–159 0 nm 1460–1620 nm 810–860 nm 1510–159 0 nm 1460–1620 nm
Absolute Wellenlängengenauigkeit¹ ≤ 0.5 nm ≤ 0.8 nm ≤ 0.5 nm ≤ 0.5 nm ≤ 0.8 nm
Relative Wellenlängengenauigkeit
≤ 0.3 nm ≤ 0.5 nm ≤ 0.3 nm ≤ 0.3 nm ≤ 0.5 nm
Side Lobe Suppression (SLS) ≥ 10 dB (typical)
DTG® Länge 1–10 mm / 8 mm (typical)
Dämpfung < 8.6 dB/km < 18.4 dB / km < 8.6 dB/km
Modusfelddurchmesser (MFD) @ 1550 nm 6 μm (typical) 5 μm (typical) 6 μm (typical)
Numerische Apertur (NA) 0.26 (typical)
Manteldurchmesser
125 μm ± 1 μm 80 μm ± 1 μm
Beschichtungstyp² ORMOCER®/ORMOCER®-T / One layer Acrylate
Durchmesser der beschichteten Faser
195 μm (typical) 120 μm (typical)
Zugbelastung bei Bruch³
> 50 N (corresponds to >5% strain) > 20 N (corresponds to >5% strain)
Temperaturempfindlichkeit⁴ (Formel: Δλ/(λ ⋅ ΔT) ) 6.5 K-1 ⋅ 10-6 (typical)
Dehnungsempfindlichkeit¹ (Formel: Δλ/(λ ⋅ Δε) )
7.8 με-1 ⋅ 10-7 (typical)
Betriebstemperaturbereich
-200–200°C for ORMOCER®
-20–200°C for ORMOCER®-T
-20–90°C for One layer Acrylate

1 bei Raumtemperatur gemessen

2 ORMOCER® wird hauptsächlich für Dehnungsmessungen verwendet, während ORMOCER®-T für Temperaturmessungen empfohlen wird.

3 gemäß IEC-60793-1-31 bei einer konstanten Verschiebung von 30 mm / Minute

4 gemessen zwischen 0 ° C und 70 ° C

5 Der Temperaturbereich ist abhängig von der Belichtungszeit.

ORMOCER®: Marke der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der angewandten Forschung e.V.

Technische Informationen herunterladen

Bitte füllen Sie das nachstehende Formular aus, um Informationen zu unseren Komponenten herunterzuladen.

* These fields are required.

Wie wir Ihre Daten verwenden

Wir verpflichten uns, Ihre Privatsphäre zu respektieren und Ihre persönlichen Daten zu schützen, und werden diese stets mit äußerster Sorgfalt behandeln. Wie wir mit Ihren Daten umgehen und wie wir sie verwenden, um Ihnen einen besseren Service zu bieten, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung .

Mit dem Absenden dieses Formulars stimmen Sie der Verwendung Ihrer Daten in Übereinstimmung mit unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

Draw Tower Gratings (DTGs) werden nach einem Verfahren hergestellt, bei dem das Ziehen der optischen Faser mit dem Schreiben des Gitters kombiniert wird. Die Eingabe des Prozesses ist ein Glasvorformling. Nach dem Erhitzen des Vorformlings wird das Ziehen und Formen der Faser eingeleitet. Im weiteren Herstellungsprozess kreuzt die Faser die optische Achse eines Lasers und des Interferometers, die ein periodisches UV-Licht-Interferenzmuster erzeugen, um das Gitter zu schreiben. Mit einem Impulsselektor und unter Berücksichtigung der Ziehgeschwindigkeit können FBGs genau in der Faser positioniert werden. Nach dem Beschreiben des Gitters wird die Faser beschichtet, indem sie in ein Beschichtungsreservoir eintritt, gefolgt von einem Härtungsschritt der Beschichtung. Schließlich wird der Ort des DTG automatisch markiert und die Faser auf eine Trommel aufgewickelt. Dieser Prozess des gleichzeitigen Ziehens der Faser, Beschreibens des Gitters und Beschichten der Faser direkt nach der Gitterbeschriftung führt zu hochfesten Gitterketten. Daher ist das üblicherweise angewendete Abbeiz- und Wiederbeschichtungsverfahren für Standard-FBGs nicht erforderlich, und die ursprüngliche Faserfestigkeit bleibt während des DTG-Herstellungsprozesses erhalten.

Referenzen für Draw Tower Gratings®

Spatial Strain Sensing Using Embedded Fiber Optics

ECN is one of Europe‘s largest energy research organizations, focussed on sustainable energy generation to develop safe, efficient, reliable and environmentally friendly energy systems. It has a strong international position in the fields of biomass, solar energy, wind energy, energy efficiency and policy studies

Für unseren Newsletter anmelden
Treten Sie in Kontakt mit uns
CAPTCHA image

* These fields are required.

Wie wir Ihre Daten verwenden

Wir verpflichten uns, Ihre Privatsphäre zu respektieren und Ihre persönlichen Daten zu schützen, und werden diese stets mit äußerster Sorgfalt behandeln. Wie wir mit Ihren Daten umgehen und wie wir sie verwenden, um Ihnen einen besseren Service zu bieten, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung .

Mit dem Absenden dieses Formulars stimmen Sie der Verwendung Ihrer Daten in Übereinstimmung mit unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu.

Germany

FBGS Technologies GmbH
Winzerlaer Straße 2
D-07745 Jena

Belgium

FBGS International NV
Bell Telephonelaan 2H

B-2440 Geel

China

X2 Suzhou Electronic Technology
Room 103, No. 388
Xinping Str. SIP, Suzhou

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®)

We offer three types of DTG® with unique characteristics compared to classically produced FBGs, such as extremely high breaking-strength, spliceless array configuration and uniform coating coverage. FBG parameters and coating material can be selected based on customer needs.

DTG®s in low bend loss fiber

1550-125

Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®s) written in Low Bend Loss fiber LBL-1550-125 which has a cladding diameter of 125µm and is optimized for operation in the 1550nm wavelength window. The glass composition has been tuned such that the fiber maintains a good signal transmission under small bending diameters.

830-125

Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®s) written in Low Bend Loss fiber LBL-830-125 which has a cladding diameter of 125µm and is optimized for operation in the 830nm wavelength window. The glass composition has been tuned such that the fiber maintains a good signal transmission under small bending diameters.

 

DTG®s in reduced cladding fibers

Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®s) written into Low Bend Loss fiber LBL-1550-80 which has a cladding diameter of 80μm and is optimized for operation in the 1550nm wavelength window. The reduced cladding diameter offers several major advantages compared to standard 125µm fibers:

  1. Unobtrusiveness – particularly interesting for embedding applications including carbon composite structures and medical catheters.
  2. Increased sensitivity – less force is required to strain the fiber enhancing the performance of sensors based on force or acoustic sensing.
  3. Reduced bending radii – lower surface strain levels enabling more compact sensor designs.

Overview

Parameter Low Bend Loss Fiber 1550-125 Low bend loss fiber 830-125 Reduced cladding fibers
Reflectivity (for grating length of 8mm) > 15%
FWHM (for grating length of 8mm) 100 pm 30 pm 100 pm
Centre wavelength (extended range upon request) 1510–159 0 nm 1460–1620 nm 810–860 nm 1510–159 0 nm 1460–1620 nm
Absolute wavelength accuracy¹ ≤ 0.5 nm ≤ 0.8 nm ≤ 0.5 nm ≤ 0.5 nm ≤ 0.8 nm
Relative wavelength accuracy ≤ 0.3 nm ≤ 0.5 nm ≤ 0.3 nm ≤ 0.3 nm ≤ 0.5 nm
Side Lobe Suppression (SLS) ≥ 10 dB (typical)
DTG® length 1–10 mm / 8 mm (typical)
Attenuation < 8.6 dB/km < 18.4 dB / km < 8.6 dB/km
Mode Field Diameter (MFD) @ 1550 nm 6 μm (typical) 5 μm (typical) 6 μm (typical)
Numerical Aperture (NA) 0.26 (typical)
Cladding diameter 125 μm ± 1 μm 80 μm ± 1 μm
Coating type² ORMOCER®/ORMOCER®-T / One layer Acrylate
Coated fiber diameter 195 μm (typical) 120 μm (typical)
Tensile load at break³ > 50 N (corresponds to >5% strain) > 20 N (corresponds to >5% strain)
Temperature sensitivity⁴ (formula: Δλ/(λ ⋅ ΔT) ) 6.5 K-1 ⋅ 10-6 (typical)
Strain sensitivity¹ (formula: Δλ/(λ ⋅ Δε) ) 7.8 με-1 ⋅ 10-7 (typical)
Operational temperature range -200–200°C for ORMOCER®
-20–200°C for ORMOCER®-T
-20–90°C for One layer Acrylate

1 measured at room temperature
2 ORMOCER® is mainly applied for strain measurements while ORMOCER®-T is recommended for temperature measurements.
3 according to IEC-60793-1-31 using a constant displacement of 30 mm/minute
4 measured between 0°C and 70°C
5 Temperature range is dependent on exposure time.

ORMOCER®: trademark of Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der angewandten Forschung e.V.

Download technical information

Please fill in your information to download more information on our components.

* These fields are required.

How we use your information

We are committed to respecting your privacy and protecting your personal information and will always treat it with the upmost care. You can find out how we handle your data and all the ways we use it to provide you with a better service in our Privacy Statement.

By submitting this form, you consent to the use of your data in accordance with our Privacy Statement.

Draw Tower Gratings (DTGs) are produced using a process that combines the drawing of the optical fiber with the writing of the grating. The input of the process is a glass preform. After heating the preform, the pulling and formation of the fibre will be initiated. Further in the production process, the fiber crosses the optical axis of a laser and the interferometer that create a periodical UV-light interference pattern in order to write the grating.  Using a pulse selector and taking into account the draw speed, FBGs can be accurately positioned in the fiber. When the grating has been written the fiber is coated by entering a coating reservoir, followed by a curing step of the coating. Finally the location of the DTG is marked automatically and the fiber is reeled onto a drum. This process of simultaneously drawing the fiber, writing the grating and coating the fiber directly after the grating inscription, results in high strength grating chains. As such the commonly used stripping and recoating process of standard FBGs is not necessary and the pristine fiber strength is maintained during the DTG manufacturing process.

Cases for Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®)

Spatial Strain Sensing Using Embedded Fiber Optics

ECN is one of Europe's largest energy research organizations, focussed on sustainable energy generation to develop safe, efficient, reliable and environmentally friendly energy systems. It has a strong international position in the fields of biomass, solar energy, wind energy, energy efficiency and policy studies.

Sign up for newsletter
Contact us
CAPTCHA image

* These fields are required.

How we use your information

We are committed to respecting your privacy and protecting your personal information and will always treat it with the upmost care. You can find out how we handle your data and all the ways we use it to provide you with a better service in our Privacy Statement.

By submitting this form, you consent to the use of your data in accordance with our Privacy Statement.

Germany

FBGS Technologies GmbH
Winzerlaer Straße 2
D-07745 Jena

Belgium

FBGS International NV
Bell Telephonelaan 2H

B-2440 Geel

China

X2 Suzhou Electronic Technology
Room 103, No. 388
Xinping Str. SIP, Suzhou