Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

形状传感

形状传感
结合拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)技术,FBGS提供了形状传感的完美解决方案。该方案使用了专门开发的多芯光纤技术(MCF)。

Fiber optic shape sensing has great potential for several medical and industrial applications to sense curvature and shape in 2D and 3D. Given the small dimensions of the fiber, the immunity to radiation and the flexibility for the integration, fiber optic shape sensing will open a complete new category of currently non-existing measurement possibilities.

拉伸塔光栅在多芯光纤中的应用(MCF-DTG®s),提供了一种沿着光纤长度来跟踪形状的方法,并且保证了很高的空间分辨率。该方案不仅可以推导出光纤的曲率大小,还可以推导出光纤的方向,从而实现光纤形状的三维重建。结合光纤的体积小、灵敏度高和MRI兼容性等特点,形状传感开辟了全新的医疗和工业应用领域。因此,多芯光纤在形状传感应用上是一种技术革命,在许多应用领域将会是比传统方法更好的解决方案。该技术将在机器人和非机器人微创手术领域实现全新的应用,如位置跟踪、仪器和导管导航、力和弯曲检测以及变形监测。

拉伸塔光栅在多芯光纤中的应用:曲率传感的技术革命

在许多医疗和工业应用领域,光纤形状传感具有巨大的潜力,因为其替代方案几乎不存在,比如与其相似的尺寸。FBGS已经证实了一种新型的利用拉丝塔光栅刻写的多芯光纤(MCF)进行形状传感的可行性。MCF-DTG展现出了如单芯光纤一样的优良特性,如高机械鲁棒性和更高的传感密度,以及可以定制的高密度DTGs阵列。MCF-DTG的出现注定会在曲率、形状和挠度传感方面带来技术革命。在许多应用中,它将是取代传统相机或x射线方法的首选方案。

多芯拉丝塔光栅

多芯光纤是一种多个单模纤芯共享同一个包层的特殊光纤,其每个纤芯都独立工作。采用拉丝塔光栅工艺可以成功地将光纤布拉格光栅写入多芯光纤中。因此,在相同的轴向位置和相同的波长下,可以同时生产多达7个特定结构的拉丝塔光栅。在多芯光纤上实现的高密度拉丝塔光栅刻写精度,是该技术领域的一个重要里程碑。

多芯拉丝塔光栅进行曲率传感

一套曲率传感系统,包含传感器、解调仪和管理所有读出和处理算法的软件。传感器的核心部分是同时并实时监测多芯光栅的至少三个外部纤芯的诱导应变。根据MCF的曲率方向,部分外部纤芯上的光栅相对于中心纤芯会产生相对纵向的拉伸或压缩,从而分别表现出正或负的应变变化。为了计算局部曲率(或弯曲半径),需要测量、处理和分析相对应变。为了重建多芯光栅的曲率轮廓,所收集的数据需要绘制成沿着光纤光栅位置的函数。

信号解调方法

两种熟知的检测方法-波分复用和光频域反射计-非常适合用来监测由多芯光栅传感器引起的波长偏移。多芯光珊中每个纤芯发出的信号通过光纤扇出设备,分别通过独立的光纤导线连接到解调仪的不同通道上。这些技术旨在为OFDR提供高达100Hz的检测速度,为WDM提供数千Hz的检测速度。

测试数据

波分复用技术可以通过每个光栅位置特定的布拉格波长来识别光纤长度上光栅的精确位置。实测数据较好地反映了沿光纤长度方向的实际曲率。利用这些数值及FBGS开发的算法,就可以算出光纤的形状和位置。通过合适的光纤和系统设计,可以对光纤的形状做出精确的预测。

相关的设计问

根据应用的要求,传感器必须满足特定的物理特性,以适应和实现它们的设计规划。当前MCF-DTGs的包层直径等于或小于125μm,呈现出良好的设计特点。它除了对曲率敏感外,还能承受紧曲率(R > 3mm)的应力。MCF-DTG配置(纤芯的数量、大小、间距和布局)和参数(光栅的数量、波长、长度、密度和间距)的定制灵活性为优化系统性能提供了强大的设计特性。

医疗保健部门对开发一种更可靠和创新的介入工具(诊断和治疗),以更低的成本提供更好的疗效越来越感兴趣。这一趋势正推动医疗技术行业追求能够集成在微创设备中的新型智能传感器。MCF-DTG由于体积小,非常适合于这一应用。它们的尺寸非常适用于注射器、导管、针管、腹腔镜、内窥镜和带有刚性或柔性轴的机械臂。这些装置在MCF-DTG传感器可以辅助射频、微波、激光或低温消融过程的应用中很常见。MCF-DTG也是MRI成像下的活体组织检查和近距离放射疗法,内窥镜曲率感测,体内运送混合药物等应用的极佳选择。

案例形状传感

Indra is a multinational company specializing in Technology Consulting throughout Europe and Latin America. With 550 million invested in R&D in the last three years, they see innovation as their driving force.

登记并获取简讯
联系我们

* 这些字段是必需的。

我们如何使用您的信息

我们承诺尊重您的隐私,保护您的个人信息。在我们的隐私申明中,您可以了解我们如何处理您的数据,以及我们如何使用这些数据为您提供更好的服务

通过提交本表格,您同意按照我们的隐私声明使用您的数据

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Fiber optic shape sensing has great potential for several medical and industrial applications to sense curvature and shape in 2D and 3D. Given the small dimensions of the fiber, the immunity to radiation and the flexibility for the integration, fiber optic shape sensing will open a complete new category of currently non-existing measurement possibilities.

The use of Draw Tower Gratings in Multi Core Fibers (MCF-DTG®s) offers a clean and elegant way of tracking shape along the length of an optical fiber with a high spatial resolution. Not only the size of the curvature can be deduced but also its direction, resulting in a reconstruction of the fiber shape in 3D. In combination with the small size, the high sensitivity and the MRI compatibility of the optical fiber, this so-called ‘shape sensing’ ability opens a whole new area of medical and industrial applications. The emergence of the MCF-DTG® for shape sensing is therefore a paradigm shift and will for many applications be a preferred solution over conventional methods. The technology will enable totally new applications in the field of robotic and non-robotic minimal invasive surgery such as position tracking, instrument and catheter navigation, force and bending detection and deformation monitoring.

Draw-Tower Gratings in Multicore Fiber: A Paradigm Shift in Curvature Sensing

Fiber-optic shape sensing has great potential for a number of medical and industrial applications because alternative solutions are practically nonexistent, for similar small sizes. FBGS has shown the feasibility of performing shape sensing using a newly developed multicore optical fiber (MCF) inscribed with Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®). The resulting MCF-DTG® exhibits the advantageous properties of a standard single-core DTG like high mechanical robustness and higher sensor density, including the option for system designers and integrators to take advantage of the densely configured arrays of DTGs. The emergence of the MCF-DTG is destined to present a paradigm shift in curvature, shape, and deflection sensing and will for many applications be the preferred solution over conventional camera or xray methods.

Multicore Fiber DTGs
MCFs are specially configured optical fibers with multiple single-mode cores sharing the same cladding. The cores can all be addressed individually. The DTG fabrication process has successfully been adopted for writing fiber Bragg gratings (FBGs) into the MCFs. Hence, one can simultaneously produce DTGs of specific configurations up to 7 cores at the same exact axial location and with the same wavelength. This precision in the inscription of these high density DTGs in the MCF represents a major milestone.

Curvature Sensing with MCF-DTGs
A curvature sensing system comprises a sensor, an interrogator, and the software that manages all the algorithms for data readout and processing. The key constituent for this type of sensing is based on simultaneous and real-time monitoring of the induced strain in a minimum of three outer cores of the MCF-DTG. Depending on the curvature orientation of the MCF, some of the DTGs on the outer cores will experience a relative longitudinal tension or compression with respect to the central core and, therefore, will register positive- or negative-induced strain changes, respectively. To calculate the local curvature (or bending radius), the relative strains are measured, processed, and analyzed. To reconstruct the curvature profile of an MCF, the gathered data can then be plotted as function of the DTG position along the optical fiber.

Signal Interrogation Schemes
Two well-established detection schemes — wavelength division multiplexing (WDM) and optical frequency domain reflectometry (OFDR) — are well suited for monitoring the wavelength shift associated with the induced strains of the MCF-DTG sensors. The signals from the individual cores are routed via a specially configured fiber optic fan-out device to separate optical fibers, which can be easily connected to the different channels on the interrogator. These techniques are designed to provide detection speeds up to 100 Hz for OFDR and several kilohertz for WDM.

Test Data
The WDM technique can identify the exact locations of the DTGs along the length of the optical fiber through the uniquely defined Bragg wavelength for each grating position. The measured data closely represents the actual curvatures of the fiber along it’s lenght. With these values the shape and the fiber position can be calculate using advanced in house developed algorithmus. With the right fiber and system design it’s possible to make a precise prediction of the fiber shape.

Related Design Issues
Depending on the application requirements, sensors must meet certain physical properties to fit and navigate their landscape. Current MCF-DTGs with a cladding diameter equal or smaller than 125 μm present a favorable design feature. In addition to its good sensitivity to curvature, it also withstands the stress of tight curvatures (R > 3 mm). The customization flexibility of the MCF-DTG configuration (number, size, spacing, and layout of cores) and parameters (number, wavelength, length, density, and spacing of FBGs) provides a powerful design feature for optimizing system performance.

A growing interest from the healthcare sector is the development of a more reliable and innovative interventional (diagnostic and therapeutic) tools that can provide better efficacy at a lower cost. This trend is driving the medtech industry to pursue novel and smarter sensors that can be integrated within the minimally invasive gear. The MCF-DTG are well suited for this purpose because of their small size. Their size makes them ideal for integration within introducers, catheters, needles, laparoscopes, endoscopes, and robotic arms with rigid or flexible shafts, especially when disposability or limited reusability is part of the utility projections. These devices are common in applications in which the MCF-DTG sensors can aid the radio-frequency, microwave, laser, or cryogenic ablation procedures. They are also a great option for navigating biopsy and brachytherapy needles under MRI imaging, curvature sensing of endoscopic devices, and delivering medicinal compounds to delicate and confined spaces in vivo, etc.

Download technical information

Please fill in your information to download more information on our components.

* These fields are required.

How we use your information

We are committed to respecting your privacy and protecting your personal information and will always treat it with the upmost care. You can find out how we handle your data and all the ways we use it to provide you with a better service in our Privacy Statement.

By submitting this form, you consent to the use of your data in accordance with our Privacy Statement.

Cases for Shape Sensing

Indra is a multinational company specializing in Technology Consulting throughout Europe and Latin America. With 550 million invested in R&D in the last three years, they see innovation as their driving force.

Sign up for newsletter
Contact us
CAPTCHA image

* These fields are required.

How we use your information

We are committed to respecting your privacy and protecting your personal information and will always treat it with the upmost care. You can find out how we handle your data and all the ways we use it to provide you with a better service in our Privacy Statement.

By submitting this form, you consent to the use of your data in accordance with our Privacy Statement.

Germany

FBGS Technologies GmbH
Winzerlaer Straße 2
D-07745 Jena

Belgium

FBGS International NV
Bell Telephonelaan 2H

B-2440 Geel

China

X2 Suzhou Electronic Technology
Room 103, No. 388
Xinping Str. SIP, Suzhou