Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)技术

相比传统的光纤布拉格光栅(FBG),拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)具备更独特的性能,如极高的抗拉强度、避免拼接和均匀的涂层覆盖。可根据客户需求选择光纤布拉格光栅(FBG)的参数和涂层材料。

拉丝塔光栅DTG®

拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)的生产整合了光纤拉丝和光栅刻写的工艺。

下图展示了该生产流程。该工艺的输入材料是玻璃预制棒。在加热玻璃预制棒后,开始拉伸和形成光纤。

为什么选择拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)或飞秒光栅(FSG®)?

 

相比传统的光纤布拉格光栅(FBG),拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)具备更独特的性能,如极高的抗拉强度、避免拼接和均匀的涂层覆盖。可根据客户需求选择光纤布拉格光栅(FBG)的参数和涂层材料。

在接下来的生产过程中,光纤穿过激光器和干涉仪的光轴。此干涉仪用于产生周期性的紫外光,从而对光纤进行光栅刻写。通过使用脉冲选择器来控制拉丝速度,FBGs可以被精确定位于光纤中。完成光栅写入后,光纤进入涂层容器进行涂覆,之后进行涂覆固化过程。

最后,自动标记器会自动标记光纤布拉格光栅(FBG)的位置信息,并将光纤绕到卷筒上,完成整个生产过程。这种拉丝、刻写和涂覆同步进行的光栅生产工艺确保了能够生产出高强度的光栅链。该工艺不必按照传统方法对光栅涂层进行剥离并重新涂覆,故可在拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)生产过程中可以保持光纤的原始强度。

BU/Link_ Fiber Optic load monitoring of wind turbine blades

 

飞秒光栅(FSG®)

基于市场对光纤布拉格光栅(FBG)的特殊需求,FBGS公司开发的飞秒光栅(FSG®)技术以拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)技术为基础,拥有更先进的制造力。

飞秒光栅(FSG®)技术的制造工艺使光纤材料得以保留其原始的高机械强度特性。此外,飞秒光栅(FSG®)可以为特殊的应用提供专门的配置及特性。

飞秒光栅(FSG®)技术采用了透过涂层直接刻写光栅的工艺,该工艺使用飞秒激光脉冲直接照射纤芯,从而避免破坏涂层。

BU/Link_ Fiber Optic load monitoring of
wind turbine blades

由于非线性吸收过程,聚焦的高功率激光脉冲改变了光纤纤芯中玻璃材料的折射率,且该变化不受玻璃材料种类及掺杂度影响。因此,该光刻工艺是优化任何类型光纤材料性能的首选。激光脉冲通过特殊光学元件引导,形成独特的干涉图案。此图案沿着标准光纤传输方向分布。此干涉图案改变了光纤线芯的指定位置的折射率,并呈栅格分布。该工艺定义了所需的反射布拉格波长。此外,若将光纤沿其光信号传输方向平移,还可制作出所需FBGs阵列。

 

飞秒光栅(FSG®)优势

  • 具备不同涂层(聚酰亚胺,丙烯酸酯等)的市售标准光纤如SMF-28(或类似产品)及纯二氧化硅芯光纤皆可用于刻制飞秒光栅。
  • 系统设计人员可利用以下新性能:可超过90%的反射率、低至200pm的更窄半高宽(FWHM)以及灵活地配置飞秒光栅(FSG®)链。
  • 可实现制造半高宽高于5nm的飞秒光栅(FSG®),并可定制不同的反射率。
  • 飞秒光栅(FSG®)拥有高热稳定性,可用于高温的作业环境。

拉丝塔光栅DTG®飞秒光栅FSG®的优势

在光纤布拉格光栅(FBG)传感领域,FBGS公司生产的拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)和飞秒光栅(FSG®)具有诸多独特性能,使其成为许多基于光纤布拉格光栅(FBG)技术传感应用的首选产品。其优异性能主要体现在如下方面:

1、超高机械强度

拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)具备极高的机械强度。与传统的剥涂层—光刻—重新涂覆工艺相比,FBGS公司生产的拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)保留了光纤材料原始的高机械强度。它们的拉伸强度通常超过5GPa,这相当于大于 7%的断裂应变。相比之下,用于制作飞秒光栅的逐点(PbP)光刻工艺及传统的剥涂层—光刻—重新涂覆工艺会导致相同光纤材料所生产的传感器拉伸强度小于2.9%。下图展示了使用不同光纤布拉格光栅(FBG)光刻技术的光纤材料断裂力的平均测量值(每根光纤中的单个FBG)。这足以证明,FBGS公司生产的拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)拥有类似于原始光纤材料断裂力的超高的机械强度。

2、避免拼接

拥有独一无二技术特性的拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)可应用于生产具有大量传感器元件的无拼接光栅链(阵列)。 下图呈现了80个无拼接的不同波长的拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)阵列光谱。

3、避免拼接

高附着力涂层如有机改性陶瓷(ORMOCER®1)及聚酰亚胺均适用于光纤材料。其良好的附着特性使拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)能够在无需去除光纤涂层的条件下直接黏着在目标结构上,在简化安装流程的同时提高了产品稳定性。

4、均匀的涂层覆盖

制作拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)的流程省略了剥涂层—光刻—重新涂覆这一环节。因此,涂层可均匀覆盖整段光纤,包括光纤布拉格光栅(FBG)所处部位。

5、耐高温

光栅工作温度主要依赖于光纤涂层可承受的最高温度。有机改性陶瓷(ORMOCER®1)材料的额定工作温度范围为-180至+200摄氏度,聚酰亚胺材料甚至可承受+300摄氏度高温。

6、低弯曲损耗

拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)均提供超低弯曲耗损光纤类型。即使在低弯曲半径配置下使用也不会产生明显的衰减效应。

7、高重复性

拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)及飞秒光栅(FSG®)的自动化生产流程保证了相关产品参数的精确度产品的高重复性及高质量。

8、节约成本

拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)的全自动化生产流程可大大提升制作高密度光栅阵列的成本效益。而飞秒光栅(FSG®)则适合于制作低密度光栅,因为其成本更少依赖于光纤的长度。

3 Abc

This inscription defines the required reflected Bragg wavelength. In addition, an array of desired FBGs can be inscribed by translating the optical fiber along its longitudinal axis. This inscription defines the required reflected Bragg wavelength.

拉丝塔光栅(DTG®)与飞秒光栅(FSG®)技术对比

Customized FSG® FSG®-A01 DTG®-AXXX
High strength yes yes yes
Uniform coating coverage yes yes yes
Ge doping level any (incl. pure silica) low high
Fiber diameter 80 μm
125 μm
125 μm 80 μm
125 μm
Number of gratings in an array high medium unlimited
Coating type any (transparent) polyimide Ormocer®
Ormocer®-T
acrylate
Standard wavelength range any (on request) 1510 – 1590 nm 1460 – 1620 nm
Reflectivity any (on request) medium to high low to medium
Bend insensitivity any (on request) medium high
Fiber attenuation any (on request) low medium
Temperature stability high high medium
Most cost effective for low density grating low density grating high density grating

 

登记并获取简讯
联系我们

我们如何使用您的信息

我们承诺尊重您的隐私,保护您的个人信息。在我们的隐私申明中,您可以了解我们如何处理您的数据,以及我们如何使用这些数据为您提供更好的服务

通过提交本表格,您同意按照我们的隐私声明使用您的数据

Germany

FBGS Technologies GmbH
Winzerlaer Straße 2
D-07745 Jena

Belgium

FBGS International NV
Bell Telephonelaan 2H

B-2440 Geel

China

X2 Suzhou Electronic Technology
Room 103, No. 388
Xinping Str. SIP, Suzhou

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

DTG® & FSG® Technology

DTG®s and FSG®s offer unique characteristics compared to classically produced FBGs, such as extremely high breaking-strength, spliceless array configuration and uniform coating coverage. FBG parameters and coating material can be selected based on customer needs.

Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®)

Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®s) are produced using a process that combines the drawing of the optical fiber with the writing of the grating.

The figure below shows the set-up of this production process. The input of the process is a glass pre-form. After heating the pre-form, the pulling and formation of the fiber will be initiated.

WHY USING DTG® OR FSG®?

DTG®s and FSG®s offer unique characteristics compared to classically produced FBGs, such as extremely high breaking-strength, spliceless array configuration and uniform coating coverage.

FBG parameters and coating material can be selected based on customer needs.

Further in the production process, the fiber crosses the optical axis of a laser and the interferometer that create a periodical UV-light interference pattern in order to write the grating. Using a pulse selector and taking into account the draw speed, FBGs can be accurately positioned in the fiber. When the grating has been written the fiber is coated by entering a coating reservoir, followed by a-curing step of the coating.

Finally the location of the FBG is marked automatically and the fiber is reeled onto a drum. This process of simultaneously drawing the fiber, writing the grating and coating the fiber directly after the grating inscription, results in high strength grating chains. As such the commonly used stripping and recoating process of standard FBGs is not necessary and the pristine fiber strength is maintained during the DTG® manufacturing process.

 

FemtoSecond Gratings (FSG®)

FBGS’s FemtoSecond Grating (FSG®) technology complements the existing DTG® technology by adding new manufacturing capabilities due to special demands for Fiber Bragg Gratings (FBGs).

The fabrication processes of both techniques maintain the pristine high mechanical- strength of the optical fiber. In addition, FSG®s can provide sensor configurations and features needed for special applications.

FSG® exploits the through-coating FBG inscription process, which utilizes ultrafast laser pulses launched via special optics to the fiber core without damaging the fiber coating. See below the schematic for FSG® inscription.

The focused high-power laser pulses change the index of refraction of the glass material in the core of the optical fiber due to nonlinear absorption processes. These effects are nearly independent of the doping level of the optical fiber or the type of glass, which uniquely sets this process to offer an advantage in its ability to modify any type of optical fiber.
The laser pulses are guided via special optics to form a unique interference pattern, which is geometrically co-aligned with the longitudinal axis of a stationary standard optical fiber. The impinging pattern creates the desired modulated index of refraction onto a selected local length along the core of the optical fiber.

This inscription defines the required reflected Bragg wavelength. In addition, an array of desired FBGs can be inscribed by translating the optical fiber along its longitudinal axis.

Advantages of FSG®

FSG® inscription offers additional advantages to the arsenal of DTG® sensors.

  • For one, a standard commercially-available telecom optical fiber, such as an SMF-28 (or similar type) or a pure silica core fiber, with different coatings (polyimide, acrylate, etc.) can be used to inscribe the gratings.
  • System designers can take advantage of new features, such as; enhanced reflectivity, which can exceed 90%, have a narrow spectral bandwidth (FWHM) down to 200pm and more flexibility in configuring FSG® chains, where spectral spacing between consecutive FBGs is less restricted.
  • Additionally, the process offers a capability to fabricate FSG®s with broad FWHM of higher than 5nm with an option to offer low or high reflection values.
  • Furthermore, FSG®s offer a higher thermal stability across a wide band of temperatures and can be designed to operate at the temperature limit of the optical fibers.

Advantages of DTG® & FSG®

Within the field of Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG) sensing, FBGS Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®) and FemtoSecond Gratings (FSG®) have some unique properties which makes them the preferred product for many FBG based sensing applications. The most important advantages are summarized below:

1 Extremely high mechanical strength

DTG®s and FSG®s show extreme high mechanical strength. In comparison to the conventional Strip-and-Recoat inscription process, FBGS’s Draw Tower Gratings (DTG®s) and FemtoSecond Gratings (FSG®s) maintain a pristine high mechanical-strength of the optical fiber. Their tensile strength typically exceeds 5GPa, which corresponds to a breakage strain of >7%. In contrast, the alternative femtosecond through-coating process designated as Point-by-Point (PbP) and the classical Strip-and-Recoat manufacturing process suffer from producing sensors with weaker tensile strength of less than 2.9% for the same type optical fiber.  The graph below displays the averaged measured breaking force of optical fibers (single FBG in each fiber) with different FBG inscription technologies. It is evident that FBGS´s DTG® and FSG® products offer superior mechanical strength with no significant reduction in the breaking force compared to a pristine optical fiber.

Comparison of tensile strength of different FBG inscription technologies.

2 Spliceless arrays

The DTG® and FSG® technologies offer unique capabilities to produce spliceless grating chains (arrays) with a high number of sensor elements. The figure below shows the spectrum of an array of 80 DTG®s with different wavelengths.

Spectrum of a DTG array containing 80 different wavelengths.
Learn more

3 Direct Fixation

High adhesion coatings can be applied on the optical fiber such as Organic Modified Ceramic (ORMOCER®1) or Polyimide. These coatings show excellent adhesion properties to the surface of the glass fiber, which makes both of DTG®s and FSG®s applicable for direct fixation on structures without the removal of the coating. This does not only facilitate the installation process, but also increases the reliability.

4 Uniform Coating Coverage

DTG®s and FSG®s can be produced without the need of a stripping-and-recoating process. DTG®s and FSG®s have therefore the unique property, where the coating is uniform over the full length of the optical fiber, including the location of the FBG.

5 Extended Operating Temperature Range

The operating temperature is mainly limited by the highest temperature the optical fiber coating can withstand. The ORMOCER®1 coating is rated for operation between -180 and +200°C, whereas the Polyimide coatings can withstand temperatures up to 300°C.

6 Low Bending Loss

DTG®s and FSG®s can both be produced in optical fiber types with extreme low bending losses, which permits them to operate in configurations with low bending radii without having significant attenuation effects.

7 High Repeatability

DTG®s and FSG®s are fabricated using an automated production process, which offers a more accurate control of the production parameters and assures high repeatability and quality.

8 Relatively Low Cost

Given that the DTG® process is a fully-automated production process, this process is very cost effective when high-density FBG arrays are needed. For less dense FBG arrays, the FSG® process is more cost-effective as production time is less sensitive to the length of the optical fiber.

1ORMOCER® : Trademark of Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der angewandten Forschung e.V.

Comparison of DTG® & FSG® Technology

Customized FSG® FSG®-A01 DTG®-AXXX
High strength yes
Uniform coating coverage yes
Ge doping level any (incl. pure silica) low high
Fiber diameter 80 μm
125 μm
125 μm 80 μm
125 μm
Number of gratings in an array high medium unlimited
Coating type any (transparent) polyimide Ormocer®
Ormocer®-T
acrylate
Standard wavelength range any (on request) 1510–1590 nm 1460–1620 nm
Reflectivity any (on request) medium to high low to medium
Bend insensitivity any (on request) medium high
Fiber attenuation any (on request) low medium
Temperature stability high medium
Most cost effective for low density grating high density grating

 

Sign up for newsletter
Contact us

* These fields are required.

How we use your information

We are committed to respecting your privacy and protecting your personal information and will always treat it with the upmost care. You can find out how we handle your data and all the ways we use it to provide you with a better service in our Privacy Statement.

By submitting this form, you consent to the use of your data in accordance with our Privacy Statement.

Germany

FBGS Technologies GmbH
Winzerlaer Straße 2
D-07745 Jena

Belgium

FBGS International NV
Bell Telephonelaan 2H

B-2440 Geel

China

X2 Suzhou Electronic Technology
Room 103, No. 388
Xinping Str. SIP, Suzhou